[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Forums Chat Annouce Calender DigiCards Recommend Remote Invites
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Legend Of Seven Hills
The Legend Of Seven Hills - Index Author
Introduction Vrishabhachala...
Anjanachala Legend Seshachala Legend
Venkatachala Legend Srivari Pushkarini
Varahswamy Shrine Sri Mahavishnu's...
Major Sections
Temples Of India
Lord Siva To Be Adored The Devalayas Of Karnataka
Palani Dhandhayudhapani The Kovils Of Kerala
The Temples of North-West India Temples For The Triple Sects
Mata Kanakadurga of Vijayawada The Legend Of Mata Kanyaka Parameswari
The Temples Of North-East India Mantralya Mahakshetra
The Aalayas of Andhra Pradesh The Mandirs Of Maharastra
Mighty Atoms For Tiny Tots Lord Siva Of Sri Kalahasthi
Bhagawan Vithoba Of Pandharpur Bizarre Beliefs And Odd Traditions
Asoka Priyadarsin The Mother Of Melmaruvathur And Her Miracles
Vishnu Mayam Jagat Sarvam Sakti Mayam
The Temples Of Tamilnadu Hindu Ethos In Capsules - Vol I

Hindu Ethos In Capsules - Vol II

Hullo Tirupathi !
Uthuthshta Govinda Cum Jo Jo Mukunda The Miracles Of Gods For The Debacles Of Humans
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


"So listen to legends! Though they are many and strangerly at variance with one another, I will stick on to the very popular and highly acclaimed legends only. The Seven Hills termed as 'Paramapada', means thereby Sri Vaikuntam on earth is believed to remove all sins by mere smarana - act of remembrance even. Further, mythologies extol the glory of the Hills tracing their antiquity to the time immemorial and they are called by different names in different yugas, like Vrishabhachala in Kritayuga, Anjanachala in Tretayuga , Seshachala in Dwaparayuga and finally Venkatachala in Kaliyuga. And the Lord has been abiding here in Tirumala amidst seven peaks of the Nallamalai Hills, an integral part of the Eastern Ghats.

This Seshachala with its seven peaks bears sembance to the seven hooded Adisesha of Vaikunta, the divine couch of Srimannarayana. Strange to see that the Nallamalai hills in this region with its ups and downs numbering seven is possessing seven peaks and the go by the names of Sechachala, Garudachala, Simhachala, Vrishabhachala, Narayanachala, Anjanachala and Venkatachala.

Each peak has a distinct and appropriate name. Their legends too are quite fascinating and awe-inspiring. The pouranic background of each peak is quite fantastic in origin, elevating in content and glorifying in nature. It is discribed that the pilgrim town Kalahasti is deemed its mouth; Ahobalam, its back; Srisailam  its tail; and lastly Tirumala its head. All these are the parts of the Nallamalai range beginning from Kurnool district to this place in Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh.


Up ] Next ]

About Introduction
You are Here! Page1
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
HinduNet Signature Merchandise

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
More Information about HinduNet Inc.
Privacy Statement
The Hindu Universe is a HinduNet Inc., website.
Copyrighted 1994-2003, HinduNet Inc.