[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Forums Chat Annouce Calender DigiCards Recommend Remote Invites
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

That Lord Siva To Be Adored
Index Author
Introduction Sivaparatattva And Its Import
Linga Puja Types of Linga
Materials For Making Linga Sivaparthivopasana
Sivabanopasana Sivalingopasana
Sivasakaropasana Siva Pancha - 
Forms of Siva Modes of Siva Puja
Principal Names Of Siva Siva Mahima
Sivashta Murthis Kshitimurti
Chindambaram Tiruvannamalai
Tiruvanaikaval  Srikalahasti
Khatmandu The Suryamurti
Chandramurti Dwadasa Jyotrilingas
Pancharama Kshetras Kashmir
Himachal Pradesh Haryana
Rajasthan Uttar Pradesh
Bihar West Bengal
Assam Tripura
Bhuvaneswar Madhya Pradesh
Andhra Pradesh Tamilnadu
Pondicherry Karnataka
Kerala Goa
Maharashtra Gujarat
Indonesia Sri Lanka
Vietnam Appendix
Major Sections
Temples Of India
Lord Siva To Be Adored The Devalayas Of Karnataka
Palani Dhandhayudhapani The Kovils Of Kerala
The Temples of North-West India Temples For The Triple Sects
Mata Kanakadurga of Vijayawada The Legend Of Mata Kanyaka Parameswari
The Temples Of North-East India Mantralya Mahakshetra
The Aalayas of Andhra Pradesh The Mandirs Of Maharastra
Mighty Atoms For Tiny Tots Lord Siva Of Sri Kalahasthi
Bhagawan Vithoba Of Pandharpur Bizarre Beliefs And Odd Traditions
Asoka Priyadarsin The Mother Of Melmaruvathur And Her Miracles
Vishnu Mayam Jagat Sarvam Sakti Mayam
The Temples Of Tamilnadu Hindu Ethos In Capsules - Vol I

Hindu Ethos In Capsules - Vol II

Hullo Tirupathi !
Uthuthshta Govinda Cum Jo Jo Mukunda The Miracles Of Gods For The Debacles Of Humans
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


At the outset, it presupposes and affirms that Siva has five distinct and different faces called Sadyojata, Vasudeva, Aghora, Tatpurusha and Isana. And each one faces a direction - viz the Sadyojatamukha faces Vasudeva, South; Aghora, West; Thatpurusha, North and Isana, Skywards. These five faces are highly adorable and their import is mystic too. They have distinct qualities Isanamukha radiates vilasa - jubilant sportive spirit, Thatpurushamukha is tapomaya - meditative in nature Aghora Mukha is samharaka - stands for destruction;  Vasudevamukha symbolises Ahankara - arrogance, and Sadyojayamukha is jnanamaya, and so reflects knowledge. They have five distinct mantras, one each and when offering prayers, relevant mantras alone have to be chanted. But each invariably brings out its own special quality and  eulogises it fittingly. Offering prayers, needless to blesses the devotee with that  quality which is invoked and prayed for. They fulfill the desires of the individual adorers according to their nature. Elaborate procedure with numerous rituals are observed in some others, like  shodasopachara puja. Devout attention confers enlightenment and performance brings merit. So read.  


 Up ]

About Siva Panchamurthyopasana
Page 1
You are Here! Page 2
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
HinduNet Signature Merchandise

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
More Information about HinduNet Inc.
Privacy Statement
The Hindu Universe is a HinduNet Inc., website.
Copyrighted 1994-2003, HinduNet Inc.