FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org
Home Book Talk Recommendations Bibliography Astrology HinduShops Gifts to India
Books By Subjects
Introduction And References
Temples And Legends of India
Hindu Scriptures
Social And Contemporary Issue
Dharma And Philosophy
Philosophy And Commentaries
Featured Book Authors
David Frawley
Dr. A. V. Srinivasan
Raja Gopala Chari
Dr. Krishna Bhatta
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Dr. David Frawley
Prof. Lata Jagtiani
Dr. Krishna Bhatta
Su.Sh Aditi Banerjee
Sh. Santhana Gopal
Dr. A.V. Srinivasan
Dr. Satish Modh
Dr. Raja Roy
Dr. Nachiketa Tiwari
Sh. Ed. Vishwanathan
Prof. Subhash Kak
Prof. Romesh Diwan
Dr. N. S. Rajaram
Vinay Sahasrabuddhe
Sh. Sudhir Birodkar
Sh. Devant Maharaj
Today's Best Selling Hindu Books from
Best Selling Yoga Books
Books about Gurus
Jain Books
Sikh Books
Eastern Religions Best Sellers
Books in the News
Special Sections
Temples And Legends of India
Culture Course
HinduNet Signature Merchandise
Question 2

Hindu Books > Introduction and References > Hinduism Simplified > Question 2

Question 2

Child : Mom can you please tell me more about the Vedas and dharma which you just talked about?

Mother : The Vedas are the original scriptures of Hinduism on which entire Hindu way of life is based. The ethical way of living as suggested in the Vedas is called dharma. Dharma is God's divine law for discipline and proper development of human beings. By Vedas no particular book is meant. The revelations that the ancient seekers of truth received through meditations were transferred from generation to generation through oral teachings. Many of those spoken concepts have been compiled and are available in volumes that we now call the Vedas. The Vedas are a collection of hymns, prayers, rituals, benedictions, sacrificial formulas and chants There are four distinct Vedas : Rig Veda, Yajur Veda, Sam Veda and Atharva Veda. Rig Veda the oldest among the Vedas mainly consists of hymns and chants praising God; Yajur Veda contains divine verses in musical form; and Atharva Veda contains guidelines for the proper way of living. The four Vedas were revealed to the sages Agni, Vayu, Aditya and Angira respectively. Later the Vedas were systemized for human benefit by sage Vyas.

Each of the Vedas contains similar essential detains on how to lead a life with a sound body, mind, and intellect and also how to attain a better next life. Each Veda consists of a ritual part and a philosophical part. The philosophical part of Vedas is called Upanishad. There are 108 Upanishads in all.

Copyright © by Hindu Books Universe All Right Reserved.

Published on: 2003-02-28 (2605 reads)

[ Go Back ]
Question 2
Question 2
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

This site is part of Dharma Universe LLC websites.
Copyrighted 2009-2014, Dharma Universe.