FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org
Home Book Talk Recommendations Bibliography Astrology HinduShops Gifts to India
Books By Subjects
Introduction And References
Temples And Legends of India
Hindu Scriptures
Social And Contemporary Issue
Dharma And Philosophy
Philosophy And Commentaries
Featured Book Authors
David Frawley
Dr. A. V. Srinivasan
Raja Gopala Chari
Dr. Krishna Bhatta
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Dr. David Frawley
Prof. Lata Jagtiani
Dr. Krishna Bhatta
Su.Sh Aditi Banerjee
Sh. Santhana Gopal
Dr. A.V. Srinivasan
Dr. Satish Modh
Dr. Raja Roy
Dr. Nachiketa Tiwari
Sh. Ed. Vishwanathan
Prof. Subhash Kak
Prof. Romesh Diwan
Dr. N. S. Rajaram
Vinay Sahasrabuddhe
Sh. Sudhir Birodkar
Sh. Devant Maharaj
Today's Best Selling Hindu Books from
Best Selling Yoga Books
Books about Gurus
Jain Books
Sikh Books
Eastern Religions Best Sellers
Books in the News
Special Sections
Temples And Legends of India
Culture Course
HinduNet Signature Merchandise
What is the basic scripture of Hinduism?

Hindu Books > Introduction and References > Hinduism Through Questions And Answers > What is the basic scripture of Hinduism?

Question 3. What is the basic scripture of Hinduism? Would you epitomize its contents?

The Vedas are the basic scriptures of Hinduism. Literally Veda means knowledge or wisdom. Shruti (that which is revealed), Agama (that which has been handed down as a tradition) and Nigama (that which gives us definite and decisive answers to the ultimate problems of life) are other appellations by which it is known. Since they were revealed, by the grace of God the Supreme, to the Rishis or sages in the depths of their intuitive experience, they have been described as apaurusheya, i.e., not created by any human agency.

These Vedas are four: Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda and Atharvaveda. Out of these the Rigveda has been conceded to be the most ancient work. According to B.G. Tilak and some other scholars who base their findings on the astronomical data available in the Rigveda itself, it was composed at least about 8000 years ago.

The Rigveda is primarily a collection of prayer hymns. The Yajurveda deals mainly with sacrificial rites and rituals. The Samaveda has set to music a selected number of hymns from the Rigveda, prescribing their chanting at appropriate stages in certain sacrifices. Incidentally, the origins of our classical music can be discovered in the Samaveda. The Atharvaveda is mostly a compendium of ethical principle as also some branches of science like Ayurveda (the science of health and longevity).

Traditionally, each of the four Vedas has been divided into four parts: Mantra or Samhita,Brahmana, Aranyaka and Upanishad. The Samhitas are collections of prayers addressed to various Vedic deities like Indra, Varuna, and Vishnu. The Brahmanas this word should not be confused with the Brahmana caste.

describe the modes and methods of performing Yajnas and Yagas (Vedic sacrifices and other connected rites). The Aranyakas describe various meditations based on the sacrificial rites and to be practised in the forest (aranya= forest). The Upanishads are philosophical works dealing with such topics as the Truth behind the universe, the true nature of human beings, the goal of life and the means of achieving it.

Copyright © by Hindu Books Universe All Right Reserved.

Published on: 2003-03-03 (1869 reads)

[ Go Back ]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

This site is part of Dharma Universe LLC websites.
Copyrighted 2009-2014, Dharma Universe.