FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org FreeIndia.Org
Home Book Talk Recommendations Bibliography Astrology HinduShops Gifts to India
Books By Subjects
Introduction And References
Temples And Legends of India
Hindu Scriptures
Social And Contemporary Issue
Dharma And Philosophy
Philosophy And Commentaries
Featured Book Authors
David Frawley
Dr. A. V. Srinivasan
Raja Gopala Chari
Dr. Krishna Bhatta
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Dr. David Frawley
Prof. Lata Jagtiani
Dr. Krishna Bhatta
Su.Sh Aditi Banerjee
Sh. Santhana Gopal
Dr. A.V. Srinivasan
Dr. Satish Modh
Dr. Raja Roy
Dr. Nachiketa Tiwari
Sh. Ed. Vishwanathan
Prof. Subhash Kak
Prof. Romesh Diwan
Dr. N. S. Rajaram
Vinay Sahasrabuddhe
Sh. Sudhir Birodkar
Sh. Devant Maharaj
Today's Best Selling Hindu Books from
Best Selling Yoga Books
Books about Gurus
Jain Books
Sikh Books
Eastern Religions Best Sellers
Books in the News
Special Sections
Temples And Legends of India
Culture Course
HinduNet Signature Merchandise
What is the Varna Ashrama system?

Page: 1/2

Hindu Books > Introduction and References > Hinduism Through Questions And Answers > What is the Varna Ashrama system?


Question 30. What is the Varna Ashrama system? Are these institutions sill in vogue today?

According to the Value system propounded by Hinduism, Moksha or spiritual emancipation is the ultimate goal of life. However, emotional weaknesses like attachment and aversion or lust, greed, and anger always raise their ugly heads to thwart man's spiritual progress. With an uncanny insight into human psychology our ancient Rishis (sages) have prescribed a way of life which affords enough scope and opportunity for the fulfilment of all legitimate desires and instincts, while keeping them under a healthy check.

The concept of the four Purusharthas, when looked at from this angle, is a unique contribution. 'Earn well. Enjoy heartily, all the good things of life. But do it within the framework of Dharma (righteousness)' this is their invaluable message. If and when this principle is put into practice meticulously, all emotional weaknesses and disturbances will gradually get reduced and disappear, making one fit for Moksha.

In order to attain this Moksha, each individual is required to pass through four Ashramas or stages of life: Brahmacharya, Grahasthya, Vanaprastha and Sannyasa. Acquisition of knowledge both secular and spiritual as also self control are the primary objectives in Brahmacharya. In Grahasthya, the second stage, he is permitted to earn and enjoy legitimate pleasures of life within the perimeters of Dharma. He is, also required to practise Dana (giving gifts) to deserving persons.

Next Page (2/2) Next Page

What is the Varna Ashrama system?
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

This site is part of Dharma Universe LLC websites.
Copyrighted 2009-2014, Dharma Universe.