The origin of the city and its reputed temple dates back to legendary times.
Of course, till the seventh century, a temple of modest size existed. Its expansion started
during the reign of Sundarapandyan in the 12th century. The big towers rose
upbetween 13th and 16th centuries. The celebrated Nayaka rulers made innumerable additions,
like Ashta Sakti Mandapam, Thousand Pillared Mandapam, Puthu Mandapam, Vandiyoor
Teppakulam, Nayakkar Mahal etc, during their period lasting for 200 long years.
In the year 1877, the wealthy Nagarthar families took up the mission of renovation.
And beautified it with impressive structures besides completing the incomplete ones.
Later in 1960-63, a committee worked under the aegis of PT Rajan attended to the
repairs of the towers and painted them artistically making it majestic and imposing.
It -added a new Mandapam and dedicated it to
Mangayarkarasi. To be true, seeing the old art pieces treasured up in the Art Museum is itself
a soul-lifting experience, and according to experts they are master-pieces made to last for all
times, unsurpassed in exquisite craftsmanship and superb finish. This Meenakshi-Sundareswar
Temple one of the biggest temple- complexes in India is a twin temple. The shrine in the
southern side is dedicated to Mother Meenakshi and the adjoining one is to Lord
Sundareswar. In size and sculpture, it is second to none but to itself.