[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Forums Chat Annouce Calender DigiCards Recommend Remote Invites
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Aalayas of Andhra Pradesh
Index Author
Invocation Introduction
Simhachalam Bhadrachalam
Annavaram Ryali
Mandapalli Draksharamam
Vijayawada Mangalagiri
Amaravathi Srikalahasti
Tirupati Lepakshi
Ahobalam Alampur
Mantralya Srisailam
Antarvedi Panagallu
Yadagiri Gudimallam
Basara Kotappakonda
Kaleswaram Ontimitta
Arasavilli Pithapuram
Major Sections
Temples Of India
Lord Siva To Be Adored The Devalayas Of Karnataka
Palani Dhandhayudhapani The Kovils Of Kerala
The Temples of North-West India Temples For The Triple Sects
Mata Kanakadurga of Vijayawada The Legend Of Mata Kanyaka Parameswari
The Temples Of North-East India Mantralya Mahakshetra
The Aalayas of Andhra Pradesh The Mandirs Of Maharastra
Mighty Atoms For Tiny Tots Lord Siva Of Sri Kalahasthi
Bhagawan Vithoba Of Pandharpur Bizarre Beliefs And Odd Traditions
Asoka Priyadarsin The Mother Of Melmaruvathur And Her Miracles
Vishnu Mayam Jagat Sarvam Sakti Mayam
The Temples Of Tamilnadu Hindu Ethos In Capsules - Vol I

Hindu Ethos In Capsules - Vol II

Hullo Tirupathi !
Uthuthshta Govinda Cum Jo Jo Mukunda The Miracles Of Gods For The Debacles Of Humans
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


For full grasp of his glory, proper study begins with the Seven Hills - His permanent abode. According to legendary evidence, He has been abiding in the Seven Hills since the Tretayuga. And the same Hills are called by different names in different yugas - they were called Vrishabhachala in the Kritayuga; Anjanachala in the Tretayuga, Seshachala in the Dwaparayuga and Venkatachala in the Kaliyuga. This permanent abode -Tirumala lies in the midst of seven peaks of the Nallamalai Hills, an integral part of the Eastern ghats. It s popularly known as Venkatachala or Venkatadri. As the Eastern ghats in the particular region bears semblance with its ups and downs along with bends-numbering seven, to the seven hooded Adisesha of Vaikunta, the Hill goes by the name of Seshachala; and the peaks - Garudachala, Simhachala, Vrishabachala, Narayanachala, Anjanachala and Venkatachala. Each peak has a Puranic background fantastic in origin, elevating in content and glorifying in nature. As the legends are many and long, let us throw a quit of them atleast.

Back ] Up ] Next ]

About Tirupati
You are Here! Uniqueness..Pg4
The Venkatachala Episode..Pg1
The Venkatachala Episode..Pg2
Anjanachala Episode..Pg1
Anjanachala Episode..Pg2
Its Spiritual Background
The Temple..Pg1
The Temple..Pg2
Festivals-Prayer services
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
HinduNet Signature Merchandise

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
More Information about HinduNet Inc.
Privacy Statement
The Hindu Universe is a HinduNet Inc., website.
Copyrighted 1994-2003, HinduNet Inc.