[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Forums Chat Annouce Calender DigiCards Recommend Remote Invites
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

From The River Of Heaven

Hindu And Vedic...

The Eternal Teaching Nature's Medicine...
Science Of Light

Social Science...

Sanskrit.. Karma And The Science ..
Universal Forms... Vedic Cosmology..
Dharmic Philosophies The Paths Of Yoga...
The Source Of Teachings


Major Sections
Books By David Frawley

Awaken Bharata

From The River Of Heaven How I Became A Hindu
The Myth Of Aryan Invasion Of India

Hinduism : The Eternal Tradition, Sanatana Dharma

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
L (a soft or vowel sound 'l') is the sound of form and stability. It gives joy, harmony, contentment, and inertia. 

These five basic sounds create the five orders of consonants, which reflect and expand their meaning. A creates the gutturals; K, KH, G, GH, NG. I creates the palatals; C, CH, J, JH, NY. U creates the labials; P, PH, B, BH, M. R creates the cerebral set (pronounced with the tongue curled back towards the palate) of T, TH, D, DH, N. L creates the labial set (pronounced with the tongue behind the teeth) of T, TH, D, DH, N. These are the twenty-five constants of Sanskrit. 

There are sixteen vowels in Sanskrit. A, I and U have short and long forms. The long form of A is pronounced like in 'father', the long form of E as in 'sheet', the long form of U as in 'boot'. Combined forms or diphthongs are E, AI, O, AU. E is pronounced as our long vowel A as in 'rate'. AI is pronounced as our long I as in 'site'. O is pronounced as in 'home' and AU as in 'ouch'. Short and long forms of a soft semi-vowel R and L also exist, though they seldom actually occur. An aspiration of the vowel sound is recognized as the letter AH, and a nasalization of the vowel sound as the letter M. 

An intermediate class between the vowels and consonants is the nine semi-vowels and aspirants. These are Y, R, L, V, H, S, Sh (palatal), Sh (cerebral), Ksh (the Sanskrit equivalent of the Greek X). 

These fifty letters form the garland of the Goddess, the Kundalini, which is the power of speech. They reside in the different chakras of the subtle body. 

In the Upanishads, the series of vowels represents the Spirit or consciousness (Indra). Consonants represent matter or death, as they are based on limitation. A consonant cannot be said without a vowel. The intermediate class of the semi-vowels and aspirants represents the creative power through which Spirit becomes matter (Prajapati).


Back ] David Frawley ] Up ] Next ]

About Sanskrit : The Power Of Mantra
Sanskrit : The Power Of..Pg1
Sanskrit : The Power Of..Pg2
Sanskrit : The Power Of..Pg3
The Form Of Sanskrit...Pg1
The Form OF Sanskrit..Pg2
Language And The....Pg1
Language And The...Pg2
Language And The ....Pg3
The Importance Of Mantra..Pg1
The Importance Of Mantra..Pg2
The Importance Of Mantra..Pg3
Primary Mantras..Pg1
Primary Mantras..Pg2
Primary  Mantras..Pg3
The Gayatri Mantra
The Use Of Mantras..Pg1
The Use Of Mantras..Pg2
Vedic & Classical Sanskrit
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
HinduNet Signature Merchandise

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
More Information about HinduNet Inc.
Privacy Statement
The Hindu Universe is a HinduNet Inc., website.
Copyrighted 1994-2003, HinduNet Inc.