[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Forums Chat Annouce Calender DigiCards Recommend Remote Invites
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

From The River Of Heaven

Hindu And Vedic...

The Eternal Teaching Nature's Medicine...
Science Of Light

Social Science...

Sanskrit.. Karma And The Science ..
Universal Forms... Vedic Cosmology..
Dharmic Philosophies The Paths Of Yoga...
The Source Of Teachings


Major Sections
Books By David Frawley

Awaken Bharata

From The River Of Heaven How I Became A Hindu
The Myth Of Aryan Invasion Of India

Hinduism : The Eternal Tradition, Sanatana Dharma

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Hence it employs techniques like mantra and visualization to gain control over our reactions to sensory impressions.  Dharana means concentration or  attention. It is the ability to constantly direct our mental energy to the object we are examining. It does not mean suppressing other objects from our awareness but to increase our energy of interest and inquiry, our passion to know, so that nothing else can disrupt it. 

Dhyana means meditation. It is the capacity to hold our mind on the object of our examination. It is to be like a mirror and reflect the reality of things. Or it is to be like a lake that is still and able to reflect the sky. It is the mind in its natural state of quiescence. 

Samadhi means absorption. It is the complete understanding of the nature of the object of our attention in which the observer is one with the observed. It is not some exotic ecstasy, thrilling bliss or magical experience but the joy that comes from peace, wherein the object is merged into the state of seeing. 

The first five of these eight limbs are called the outer aspect of Yoga. They are preliminary in nature. The first two, Yama and Niyama, refer to the right attitudes, values and life-style practices necessary to the path of Yoga, its ethical foundation. The next three are the means of control the outer aspects of our nature, as body, breath and senses. The last three are called Samyama or integration. They naturally go together.


Back ] David Frawley ] Up ] Next ]

About The Paths Of Yoga : Yoga
The Paths Of Yoga...Pg1
The Paths Of Yoga....Pg2
The Paths Of Yoga...Pg3
The Paths Of Yoga...Pg4
Yoga Of Knowledge...
Teachings On The Yoga Of...
The Yoga Of Devotion..Pg1
The Yoga Of Devotion..Pg2
The Yoga Of Devotion..Pg3
The Yoga Of Devotion..Pg4
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg1
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg2
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg3
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg4
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg5
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg6
Forms Of The Gods And..Pg7
The Avataras...Pg1
The Avataras...Pg2
The Avataras...Pg3
The Yoga Of Service...Pg1
The Yoga Of Service...Pg2
The Yoga Of Technique...Pg1
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg2
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg3
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg4
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg5
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg6
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg7
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg8
The Yoga Of Technique..Pg9
Integral Yoga : Raj Yoga...Pg1
Integral Yoga : Raj Yoga...Pg2
Integral Yoga : Raj Yoga...Pg3
Integral Yoga : Raj Yoga...Pg4
Experience In Yoga
The Astral Plane
The Paths Of Yoga..
High Tech Yogas...Pg1
High Tech Yogas...Pg2
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
HinduNet Signature Merchandise

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
More Information about HinduNet Inc.
Privacy Statement
The Hindu Universe is a HinduNet Inc., website.
Copyrighted 1994-2003, HinduNet Inc.